Falling for Fall

Any of you who know me at all know about my obsessive love of Gilmore Girls. Well, a week ago I basically became Lorelai Gilmore.

How?

Well, we’ll get to that later. First, I need to explain my love-hate relationship with this city and my love affair with fall.

There are many things I dislike about this city. Traffic. Stop lights on the entrance ramps. Luxury vehicles. Parking tickets. Parking meters. The motorcyclists who have the gall to weave in between lanes. However, my biggest complaint about living in this city is the lack of seasons. There is one season. ONE. And unfortunately, it’s summer.

Okay, I know what you’re thinking. What 24 year old hates summer?? It could be SOOOO much worse! I understand that the upstate New Yorkers are shoveling snow out of their driveways. I understand that the rain continues to pour in Seattle and it’s been days since you’ve seen the sun. I understand that too much of anything is unhealthy. But with that said, I say continual doses of Summer are the worst.

As the rest of the U.S. begins to cool off, the City of Angels is only just hitting her peak of summer.

Fall is my favorite time of year and knowing it just doesn’t happen here absolutely kills me. Seeing the annual arrival of Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Latte is just downright painful. Seeing pumpkins out on display should make me happy but honestly, here, it’s just down right depressing.

We’ve all seen the cute target ads for the cable knit sweaters, floral scarfs and adorable new brown boots but there’s no NEED to buy them. No need to dig them out of your closet. I miss my scarfs.  I miss my boots. I miss having to dress warm because it’s a little chilly. I miss corn mazes and hayrides. I miss apple cider to warm you right up. I miss that southern hospitality.

Depressed yet? Me too.

Let’s turn this thang around.

As I was saying before, I LOVE Gilmore Girls and a week ago I became Lorelai Gilmore. It. Was. Awesome. Let me set this up for you:

It was 9:00 am Tuesday morning.

I woke up and just knew something was different.

The wind whipped through the palm trees next to my bedroom window and something told me it felt cool outside. I daresay even crisp.

I placed my hand to the glass and instantly knew…               Fall had arrived.                                                                                                                                                   

How did this make me Lorelai Gilmore? Well, for those of you who’ve never watched the show, Lorelai has an intense relationship with SNOW and she can always tell when the first snowfall is coming. Thus, I was Lorelai for a day…just subtract the “snow” from “snowfall”.

As I was saying…

I dressed quickly and left the apartment. The second I was outside I felt the rush of that crisp autumn air. The wind blew my hair every which way and I giggled, giddy from this unexpected change.

I got in the elevator and a 30-something Hispanic girl and her mother rushed to make the elevator and I held the door open.

“Definitely feels like Fall today, huh?” she asked.

I grinned ear to ear.

At the same that time I said, “Isn’t it awesome!?” she uttered, “It’s so gloomy.”

I’m sorry. What?!  How dare she use that word!

We looked at each other, confused.

“So, You like that? When it’s all cloudy and cold?”

I thought, Cloudy? Oh! She means that one cloud in the midst of the otherwise BLUE sky. Yet another delusional Californian.

“…Well I used to live in Nashville where it rained a lot so, yeah. I …”

“Oh, yeah, so this is nothing to you.”

“…yeah.”

And that was that. I departed her most unfortunate company to enjoy the fresh autumnal air in solitude.

It was perfection. Windy, cool, and the leaves were doing their job and actually falling to the ground!!  *Gasp* I even drove down a street on which I saw several red(ish) trees! I was in heaven.

So obviously, LA is not my favorite place, especially during fall. I miss my family, and Friday night football games. I miss going shopping with all the women for cute scarves and fall clothes.  I’m stuck here in this desertous wasteland and I start to seriously consider moving home.

Then, God drops this blissful day full of the true spirit of autumn on me and I know I’m going to be okay. I have to look for his blessings, because they’re there. Maybe they don’t hit me over the head like this perfect day did, or awaken my “first day of fall” spidey senses, but they’re always there. I just have to be aware and look for them. They’re usually hidden and I usually don’t look hard enough, so God, being the big gracious guy he is, throws me a freebee.

Thanks God, I can be really oblivious. But then again, you know that.

LL-Snow-gilmore-girls-2457143-1024-768

LORELAI: Take a deep breath.
LUKE: What?
LORELAI: Do it.
LUKE: Yeah.
LORELAI: Oh, yeah. I smell snow.
LUKE: What?
LORELAI: It’s coming. I always know. I can smell it, and I’m never wrong.
LUKE: It wasn’t in the forecast.
LORELAI [sighs happily]: It’s just my favorite time of the year. The whole world changes color.
LUKE: I think I’m blacking out.
LORELAI: Flakes, flurries, swirls, crystals, whatever form it comes in. I’ll take it. We go back, snow and me. We have a beautiful history.

Leave a Reply

